Most people who divorce eventually marry again on average within four years of their divorce. Some remarry more quickly. About 30% tie the knot within the first year. Some couples divorce so that one, or both, can marry other people.
If you are going through a divorce, or recently finalized one, check with your state laws before sending out invitations. Some states require that you wait as long as six months before walking back down the aisle.
States with waiting periods before divorce is final and remarriage is allowed are as follows:
- Texas (30 days)
- Kansas (30 days)
- Alabama (60 days)
- Massachusetts (90)
- Rhode Island (90 days)
- Nebraska (6 months)
- Wisconsin (6 months)
Washington, D.C., also has a 30-day waiting period. No state limits how many legal marriages you can have in a lifetime.
30-Day Waiting Period in Texas
The Lone Star days is one of a handful in the United States that requires a waiting period. You must wait a full 30 days after a judge finalizes your divorce in Texas before you can once again tie the knot. You can legally marry 31 days after the divorce decree was issued.
The purpose of the waiting period is to provide both sides with the time to review and potentially appeal the terms of the divorce agreement. If appealed, the divorce case can be reopened.
Exceptions to Texas’ Waiting Period
If divorced spouses want to remarry each other, there is no waiting period.
A judge can waive the 30-day period for good cause:
- If you or your future spouse is seriously ill
- If you or your future spouse will be deployed by the military within 30 days
- If you have not lived with your former spouse in several years
- If you or your future spouse are facing permanent duty reassignment outside the U.S.
Should you remarry within 30 days without the approval of a judge, you risk your new marriage being voided. This risk is true even if you marry again in a state with no waiting period. You must be legally entitled to marry in the state you divorced before you can marry elsewhere.
Remarriage Statistics in the U.S.
Prior to 1970, Texans had to wait 12 months before they could marry again after a divorce. The waiting period changed to 6 months in 1970 and was further reduced to its current 30 days in 1974.
Despite marriage rates being on the decline, remarriage is still popular. Here are some interesting remarriage statistics in the U.S.:
- The median age for a second marriage is 35.1 for men and 32.7 for women
- About half of women in remarriages give birth to at least one child
- 55% of all divorced men aged 25 or older has remarried
- 44% of all divorced women aged 25 or older has remarried
- 3% of Americans have married three or more times
- 25% of second marriages end within five years
- 40% of remarriages include children from previous relationships
Compassionate Legal Counsel for Your Texas Divorce
The Springer Law Firm is Katy is a full-service divorce firm. Our attorneys have a broad range of experience to handle the complex and unique issues in any traditional or same-sex divorce.
Divorce is one of the most difficult times anyone faces during their life. We will advocate for your interests and fight to help you feel secure as you begin a new chapter.
If you are considering divorce in the Katy area, schedule a free initial consultation with us. Contact us online or call (281) 990-6025.